Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Latvia

The Ministry of Culture is the state governing institution, which organizes and coordinates state culture policy and cultural-educational policy. The Ministry of Culture operates pursuant to the regulations of the Ministry of Culture, the declaration of the Cabinet and the basic principals of the State culture policy.

The central apparatus of the Ministry of Culture consists of two (2) departments: Cultural Policy Department and European Union Funds Department 

There are 10 independent divisions at The Ministry of Culture: International Cooperation and European Union Policy Division, Personnel and Management of Documents Division, Legal Division, Budget and Investment Division, Bookkeeping and Accounts Division, Procurement Division, IT Division, Internal Audit Division, Culture and Creative Industries Education Division and Project Implementation Division of the Latvian National Library.

The following fields are under the jurisdiction of the Ministry: Copyrights and Neighbouring Rights, Libraries, Museums, Music, Fine Art, Amateur and Folk Art, Theatre, Literature, Film Art, Cultural Education, Protection of Monuments, Archives and Architecture.


Structure of the Ministry of Culture




Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Latvia

K. Valdemāra iela 11 a
Riga, LV-1364
Phone: +371 67330200
Fax: +371 67330293

E-mail: pastse-pasta



View Latvijas Republikas Kultūras ministrija in a larger map


Minister for Culture Ms.Dace Melbārde (right to left), curator of the project "Art in Public Space" Ms.Helēna Demakova, artist Ms.Brigita Zelča-Aispure, rector of the University of Latvia Prof.Mārcis Auziņš, patrons of the arts Ms.Ināra Tetereva and Mr.Boriss Teterevs, Mayor of Riga Mr.Nils Ušakovs and Deputy Mayor of Riga Mr.Andris Ameriks after the opening of Brigita Zelča-Aispure and Sandis Aispurs' art object "Still Nature" at the Botanical Garden of the University of Latvia on September 29, 2014.
prior 29.09.2014.